Mathematics
Te Tari Pāngarau me te Tatauranga
Department of Mathematics & Statistics
» View an alphabetic list of all Department members

Academic Mathematics Staff


Professor Boris Baeumer

(PhD Louisiana State)

Fractal transport in porous media, anomalous diffusion, transform theory.
Research interests and publications 

Office: 232A
Phone: 479-7763
Email: bbaeumer@maths.otago.ac.nz        
** Head of Mathematics, Director of Studies (Graduate) **

Dr Florian Beyer

(PhD Potsdam)

Partial differential equations, singular limits and applications in mathematical physics
Research interests and publications 

Office: Science III, room 218
Phone: 479-7768
Email: fbeyer@maths.otago.ac.nz        
** Director of studies (400-level maths), Pacific Islands Liaison **

Professor David Bryant



Applications of mathematics and statistics to evolutionary biology and genetics
Research interests and publications 

Office: Science III, room 515
Phone: 479-7889
Email: dbryant@maths.otago.ac.nz        
** Director of Computational Modelling (COMO) **

Dr Timothy Candy

(PhD University of Edinburgh)

Partial Differential Equations and Harmonic Analysis
Research interests and publications 

Office: Science III, room 216
Phone: 479-7781
Email: tcandy@maths.otago.ac.nz        

Professor Jörg Frauendiener

(PhD Tübingen)

Mathematical Physics
Research interests and publications 

Office: Science III, room 223
Phone: 479-7770
Email: joergf@maths.otago.ac.nz        
** Chair of Applied Mathematics **

Dr Jörg Hennig

(PhD Jena)

Analytical and Numerical Relativity
Research interests and publications 

Office: Science III, room 215
Phone: 479-7765
Email: jhennig@maths.otago.ac.nz        

Dr Fabien Montiel

(PhD Otago)

Wave scattering theory, Ocean wave modelling, Sea ice physics, Acoustics, Wave energy
Research interests and publications 

Office: Science III, room 514
Phone: 479-7760
Email: fmontiel@maths.otago.ac.nz        

Dr Dominic Searles

(PhD U. Illinois Urbana-Champaign)

Algebra and combinatorics
Research interests and publications 

Office: Science III, room 220
Phone: 479-7762
Email: dsearles@maths.otago.ac.nz        

Dr Robert Van Gorder

(PhD)

Applied Mathematics
Research interests and publications 

Office: Science III, room 212
Email: rvangorder@maths.otago.ac.nz        

Assoc Prof Sarah Wakes

(PhD Nottingham)

Computational Fluid Dynamics, Environmental Fluid Mechanics, Engineering Design
Research interests and publications 

Office: Science III, room 210
Phone: 479-3148
Email: sarah.wakes@otago.ac.nz        
** Head of Department **