Mathematics
Department of Mathematics & Statistics
Te Tari Pāngarau me te Tatauranga
» View an alphabetic list of all Department members

Head of Department

Jump to:
   Mathematics Staff
   Statistics Staff
   Research Fellows
   Post-doctoral Fellows
   Support Staff
   Associates

Professor Robert Aldred

(PhD Melbourne)

Graph theory and combinatorics.
Research interests and publications 

Office: 211A
Phone: 479-7766
Email: raldred@maths.otago.ac.nz        
** Head of Department **

Academic Mathematics Staff



 

Professor Robert Aldred

See above

Professor Astrid an Huef

(PhD Dartmouth College)

Functional analysis; Operator algebras associated to dynamical systems
Research interests and publications 

Office: 232A
Phone: 479-7760
Email: astrid@maths.otago.ac.nz        
** Chair of Pure Mathematics **

Assoc Prof Boris Baeumer

(PhD Louisiana State)

Fractal transport in porous media, anomalous diffusion, transform theory.
Research interests and publications 

Office: Science III, room 213
Phone: 479-7763
Email: bbaeumer@maths.otago.ac.nz        

Dr Florian Beyer

(PhD Potsdam)

Mathematical and computational General Relativity
Research interests and publications 

Office: Science III, room 218
Phone: 479-7768
Email: fbeyer@maths.otago.ac.nz        

Professor David Bryant



Applications of mathematics and statistics to evolutionary biology and genetics
Research interests and publications 

Office: Science III, room 514
Phone: 4797889
Email: dbryant@maths.otago.ac.nz        
** Director of Computational Modelling (COMO) **

Dr Petru Cioica-Licht

(PhD Philipps-Universität, Marburg)

Regularity of Stochastic Partial Differential Equations
Research interests and publications 

Office: Science III, room 212
Phone: 479 7783
Email: pcioica@maths.otago.ac.nz        

Dr Lisa Orloff Clark

(PhD Dartmouth College)

Functional Analysis and Operator Algebras
Research interests and publications 

Office: Science III, room 220
Phone: 479-7769
Email: lclark@maths.otago.ac.nz        

Professor Jörg Frauendiener

(PhD Tübingen)

Mathematical Physics
Research interests and publications 

Office: Science III, room 223
Phone: 479-7770
Email: joergf@maths.otago.ac.nz        
** Chair of Applied Mathematics **

Professor Michael Hendy

(PhD New England)

Molecular phylogenetics, molecular sequence analysis, algebraic number theory, combinatorics
Research interests and publications 

Office: Science III, room 517
Phone: 479-5972
Email: mhendy@maths.otago.ac.nz        

Dr Jörg Hennig

(PhD Jena)

Analytical and Numerical Relativity
Research interests and publications 

Office: Science III, room 215
Phone: 479-7765
Email: jhennig@maths.otago.ac.nz        

Assoc Prof Mihály Kovács

(PhD LSU)

Operator semigroups, approximation of PDEs and stochastic PDEs, fractional calculus
Research interests and publications 

Office: Science III, room 212
Phone: 479 7783
Email: mkovacs@maths.otago.ac.nz        
** Mihály left the Department in May 2016 **

Dr Richard Norton

(PhD Bath)

Numerical Analysis, Computational Statistics
Research interests and publications 

Office: Science III, room 513
Phone: 479-7778
Email: richard.norton@otago.ac.nz        

Warren Palmer

(BA(Hons) MSc(Otago) DipTchg(DTC), CertTchg(NZDE))

Teaching Fellow

Email: wpalmer@maths.otago.ac.nz        

Professor Iain Raeburn

(PhD Utah)

Functional analysis, operator algebra and its applications, representation theory
Research interests and publications 

Office: Science III, room 515
Phone: 479 5115
Email: iraeburn@maths.otago.ac.nz        

Dr John Shanks

(DPhil Oxford)

Numerical analysis
Research interests and publications 

Office: Science III, room 513
Phone: 479-7778
Email: jshanks@maths.otago.ac.nz        

Dr Phillip Wilcox

(BForSci(Hons)(Cant) PhD(Nth Carolina > SU) DipTeAraReoMāori(Te Wananga o Aotearoa))

Quantitative genetics, applied genomics, breeding, medical genetics, Māori engagement

Office: Science III, room 221
Phone: 7771
Email: phillip.wilcox@otago.ac.nz        
** Iwi affiliations: Ngāti Rakaipaaka, Rongomaiwahine, Ngāti Kahungunu ki te Wairoa **

Academic Statistics Staff

Jump to:
   Mathematics Staff
   Research Fellows
   Post-doctoral Fellows
   Support Staff
   Associates

Professor David Bryant

See above

Dr Austina Clark

(PhD Otago)

Design and analysis of experiments, population estimation.
Research interests and publications 

Office: Science III, room 117
Phone: 479-7757
Email: aclark@maths.otago.ac.nz        

Dr Tilman Davies

(PhD Massey)

Kernel smoothing, applied point process modelling, computational statistics, geographical epidemiology
Research interests and publications 

Office: Science III, room 222
Phone: 479-7772
Email: tdavies@maths.otago.ac.nz        

Dr Peter Dillingham

(PhD Otago)

Ecological, Environmental, and Bayesian Statistics
Research interests and publications 

Office: Science III, room 516
Phone: 479-5971
Email: dillingh@maths.otago.ac.nz        

Megan Drysdale

(BSc BA PGDipAppStat)

Teaching Fellow

Office: Science III, room 217
Phone: 4797767
Email: mdrysdale@maths.otago.ac.nz        

Dr Murray Efford

(D.Phil. Oxon.)

Statistical ecology - honorary senior lecturer
Research interests and publications 

Phone: 476 4668
Email: murray.efford@otago.ac.nz        

Associate Professor David Fletcher

(PhD Southampton)

Applied statistics, statistical ecology.
Research interests and publications 

Office: Science III, room 219
Phone: 479-7762
Email: dfletcher@maths.otago.ac.nz        

Associate Professor John Harraway

(MSc Otago)

Applied statistics, statistics education.
Research interests and publications 

Office: Science III, room 238
Phone: 479-7782
Email: jharraway@maths.otago.ac.nz        

Mr Tim Jowett

(MSc Otago)

Statistical consultant

Office: Science III, room 234
Phone: 7776
Email: tjowett@maths.otago.ac.nz        

Dr Matthew Parry

(PhD Brown)

Decision theory and information geometry, epidemiology, spatiotemporal processes, cosmology, and quantum statistical mechanics
Research interests and publications 

Office: Science III, room 236
Phone: +64 3 479 7780
Email: mparry@maths.otago.ac.nz        

Dr Matthew Schofield

(PhD Otago)

Bayesian inference, computational methodology, ecological statistics.
Research interests and publications 

Office: Science III, room 237
Phone: 479-7779
Email: mschofield@maths.otago.ac.nz        

Assoc Prof Katrina Sharples

(PhD Univ of Washington)

Biostatistics, clinical trials, applications of statistics in epidemiology
Research interests and publications 

Office: Science III, room 233
Phone: 479-7756
Email: katrina.sharples@otago.ac.nz        
** Head of Statistics **

Dr Ting Wang

(PhD Massey)

Stochastic models, especially in geophysics; Point process theory; Hidden Markov models; Survival analysis; Robust statistics
Research interests and publications 

Office: Science III, room 518
Phone: 479-7773
Email: twang@maths.otago.ac.nz        

Dr Phillip Wilcox

See above

Dr Graham Wood

(BSc (Hons) (Otago), PhD (ANU))

Applications of mathematics and statistics in biology; Statistical modelling of vehicle crashes; Applications of geometry;
Research interests and publications 

Office: Science III, room 235
Email: gwood@maths.otago.ac.nz        

Research Fellows

Jump to:
   Mathematics Staff
   Statistics Staff
   Post-doctoral Fellows
   Support Staff
   Associates

Benoit Auvray

(MSc(Gembloux))

Senior Research Fellow

Office: Science III, room 214
Phone: 7764
Email: bauvray@maths.otago.ac.nz        

Diana Giraldo

(BSc(Hons) Colombia, DipGrad, PGCertPH, MSc Otago)

Assistant Research Fellow in the Quantitative Genetics group

Office: Science III, room 232
Phone: 7774
Email: dgiraldo@maths.otago.ac.nz        

Dr Michael Lee

(BSc(Hons), DipGrad, PhD(Otago))

Senior Research Fellow

Office: Science III, room 214
Phone: 7764
Email: mlee@maths.otago.ac.nz        

Post-doctoral Fellows

Jump to:
   Mathematics Staff
   Statistics Staff
   Research Fellows
   Support Staff
   Associates

Mr James Fletcher

(PhD Wollongong)

Operator algebras and functional analysis
Research interests and publications 

Office: 310a
Phone: 479-4567
Email: james.fletcher@otago.ac.nz        

Dr Fabien Montiel

(PhD Otago)

wave scattering, hydroelasticity, ocean waves in polar oceans, acoustics, marine renewable energy
Research interests and publications 

Office: 310a
Phone: 479-4567
Email: fmontiel@maths.otago.ac.nz        

Dr. Mohammad Nilforooshan

(PhD SLU)

Quantitative Genetics, Computer Programming, General Animal Breeding, Matrix Algebra, Applied Statistics
Research interests and publications 

Office: 310a
Phone: 479-4567
Email: mnil@maths.otago.ac.nz        

Support Staff

Jump to:
   Mathematics Staff
   Statistics Staff
   Research Fellows
   Post-doctoral Fellows
   Associates

Mrs Lenette Grant



Department Manager

Office: Science III, room 211
Phone: 479-7758
Email: lgrant@maths.otago.ac.nz        

Marguerite Hunter

(BA Hons QUB)

Administrative Assistant

Office: Reception
Phone: 479-7899
Email: mhunter@maths.otago.ac.nz        

Mrs Leanne Kirk



Financial Administrator/Receptionist

Office: Science III, room 201
Phone: 479-7759
Email: lkirk@maths.otago.ac.nz        

Mr Chris Palmer

(BSC Hons, PG Dip (Sci) Otago)

Computer programmer and analyst

Office: Science III, room 115
Phone: 479-7739
Email: cpalmer@maths.otago.ac.nz        

Mr Greg Trounson

(BSc, BCom Otago)

Computer systems administrator

Office: Science III, room 115
Phone: 479-7739
Email: gregt@maths.otago.ac.nz        

Associates

Jump to:
   Mathematics Staff
   Statistics Staff
   Research Fellows
   Post-doctoral Fellows
   Support Staff

Professor Richard Barker

(PhD Massey)

Bayesian inference, hierarchical models, ecological statistics, mark-recapture models
Research interests and publications 

Phone: 479-7756
Email: rbarker@maths.otago.ac.nz        
** Left the Department in 2017 to become the Pro-Vice-Chancellor, Division of Sciences. **

Assoc Prof Mik Black

(PhD Purdue)

Genetics/genomics, bioinformatics, Bayesian modeling, statistical computing
Research interests and publications 

Office: Biochemistry
Phone: 479-7831
Email: mik.black@otago.ac.nz        
** Based in Department of Biochemistry. Mik supervises students in Statistics, Genetics and Biochemistry. **

Emeritus Professor Derek Holton

(PhD McGill)

Graph theory and combinatorics, mathematics education.
Research interests and publications 

Email: dholton@maths.otago.ac.nz        
** Retired April 2009 but continuing links with the Department **

Dr Naomi Ingram





Office: College of Education
Phone: 4284
Email: naomi.ingram@otago.ac.nz        

Professor Vernon Squire

(DSc Wales, PhD Cambridge)

Polar marine modelling and physics, wave methods, continua, remote sensing.
Research interests and publications 

Office: Room 116 in the Clocktower Building
Phone: 479-8303
Email: vernon.squire@otago.ac.nz        
** Left the Department in 2005 to become the Pro-Vice-Chancellor, Division of Sciences. In 2010 appointed as Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Academic and International). He maintains links with the Department and is still active in research and supervision. **